Jumbo The Elephant Monumentaddress- 76 Talbot Street
St. Thomas, ON
Jumbo, “The King of Elephants” was tragically killed when he was struck by a Grand Trunk Locomotive in St. Thomas Ontario, on September 15th, 1885. In 1985 on the 100th anniversary of Jumbo’s death, the City of St. Thomas dedicated a 38 ton statue as a tribute to the most famous elephant who ever lived.
We had a guided tour and this was fun to do with the family.
Once in St. Thomas, you will find the Museum at 225 Wellington Street, between Ross Street and First Avenue. We’re the big red building behind Lyle Cook Automotive.
The railway has been a part of St. Thomas since 1856 with the completion of the London and Port Stanley Railway. Since then a total of 26 railways have passed through town making St. Thomas what is now known as the 'Railway Capital of Canada'.
The Elgin County Railway Museum was created in 1988 as a registered non-profit charity for the purpose of preserving and restoring the railway heritage of St. Thomas and surrounding area. The knowledgeable base of volunteers are dedicated to keeping alive the memory of the railway which put St. Thomas on the map.
Our extensive collection includes some real gems including an electric interurban, a Pullman Sleeper and even a Jordan Spreader and more precious pieces of Canada's railway history.